A Butterfly

ISO 500 | 1/200sec | f/7.1 | 100mm | EOS 60D

 

As they say, a butterfly is an insect, a moth, or a small, delicate creature with wings. But to me, it goes beyond that.  I consider the butterfly as something that conveys meaning in the entirety of its life cycle. Starting out as an egg, then transformed into a caterpillar, then into a pupa, and finally, into the so-called butterfly. In the process of doing so, it can be likened to the life of a person as well. No matter how the changes are, at the end of it, the cycle repeats itself.

The photo above was taken during my recent nature travel/trip in the highlands of Murcia, Negros Occidental, Philippines. I visited one of the butterfly sanctuaries in the province, and to my awe, I was totally amazed of how the butterflies are enjoying their freedom flying and hopping from flower to flower, and from trees to trees. This was my first time to visit a sanctuary like these, so, along with my camera, I didn’t hesitate to take photos at a distant so that I cannot disturb the environment. I was surprised that though the butterflies were not afraid to people visiting them, in fact, i can sense that they love and enjoy the presence of the people visiting them. I took the opportunity to focus on one of the many butterflies flying around, this shot is the closest as I can get to the butterfly that somehow posed at my camera. I was amazed by how beautiful they are and at the same time, how fragile they are. But then again, butterflies are butterflies. As I go with some rationalizations about butterflies, I would like to share something that I hope, it makes sense:

“Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp,  but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you”  (a quote by Nathaniel Hawthorne)

 

